A Taste of IVF Over 40

Meeting the Nurses

Posted on: Wednesday, December 5, 2007

I must say that I almost totally botched my nursing appointment.  In order to see a nurse fairly quickly (I didn’t want to waste any more time!) I had to make an appointment at a satellite clinic.  I didn’t want to waste another month.  The lady on the phone who arranged my appointment was very helpful.

Wow!  What lovely women.  They are genuinely caring and they are also very thorough.  It’ s as if they recognise you are on edge and they just want to keep you calm and positive.

My IVF Team is “The Blue Team”.  It’s a lot like taking your car to your local Ford service centre!  I can contact my Blue Team with the slightest question.  The Blue Team consists of the nurses and doctors who work together to manage their patients – including me!  They have their own phone number and you can ring them at any time, or leave a message and they will call you back the same day.

They almost bewilder you with their overload of information about dates, scripts, instructions, blood tests, scans, medications and hormones (or whoremoanes as my husband calls them!)  However, they make sure they give you heaps of time for questions. 

My first visit to the nurses also resulted in me learning how to inject myself … ugh.  Although they get you to practice with empty needles on pretend flesh it’s still a bit scary. 

The most important information I left with was no matter what you forget … don’t forget to ring them on the first day of your period!  They gave me a card with their number on it and repeated that I must not forget to ring them on the first day of my period. 

Then, I’ll start taking the contraceptive pill (!!!).

Leave a Reply

