A Taste of IVF Over 40

Donor Profiles

Posted on: Thursday, January 31, 2008

Oh Boy.

The donor information arrived in the mail today.  I must say I was shocked.  Only four to choose from.  I read them and none of them sounded like us.  Not like someone I would date, let alone have as the father of my child.  It’s the truth.  And I feel so guilty and spoilt to think this because these beautiful men have donated their sperm for altruistic and loving reasons.

Reading their profiles.  They all seem so very genuine and so sensitive and caring.  I cried.  Then I re-read them and cried again.  I cried because I was so touched by their generosity and their love towards a child who has not even been created.  These men are heroes.  They are asked questions such as “What were you like at school? How would you describe your personality? Why are you donating? What are your hobbies?” and so on.

My husband was out of town so I had to try to fax them – didn’t work.  Why is it my fax line has mysteriously stopped working?  I scanned each page and emailed them to him – too large.  Had to send a million emails to him with one page each in them because the software for my scanner isn’t set up properly (long story) and I can’t change the scan properties.

We decided to ring the IVF Donor Administration and ask them if there was anyone else.  “No, very sorry, that’s all there is”. 

After doing some internet research I realise donor numbers are dropping as the likelihood of children tracking down their donor parent – and vice versa – is now quite high.  This is a whole area we are yet to deal with.  When to tell them.  How to tell them.  Should you tell them.

We decided on one lovely fellow.  They were all lovely.  God bless them.

1 Response to "Donor Profiles"

First of all, congrats on deciding on a donor! And what you say is completely true…most children now track down their donor parent as the information is readily available on the internet. A recent pod cast show on http://www.getsmartradio.net, all about sperm donation, gave me great insights about this topic from a donor’s own point of view…I highly suggest you check it out!

Leave a Reply

