A Taste of IVF Over 40

Choosing a Donor

Posted on: Friday, February 1, 2008

OK.  I know I said we had chosen a donor yesterday.

Well, this morning the Donor Administration rang up and said they had another donor.  Goodness.  After all the deliberation yesterday I didn’t want to get my hopes up.  I went in today for a second scan and picked up the profile whilst I was there.

Well.  We are very pleased with this donor.  His hobbies sound a lot like my husband’s hobbies.  His profile sounded very like my husband could have filled in the form – sort of.  Am I wrong?  Is this the way you should choose a donor?  How should you choose a donor?

I know they have all been screened till the cows come home for any medical issues.  But one cannot go on appearance alone either (should you choose one that looks like your husband?).  What about the type of work he does (should you choose someone who’s line of work you relate to?)?  What stupid questions, yet they were all that was flying through my head.

I worry about my husband.  He says he doesn’t really want to get too fussed about who we choose and that he would be happy with whoever I choose.  I hope he doesn’t feel inadequate.  But strangely, I don’t think he does.  I think he’s coping really well.  He’s a rock.

At the end of the day, beggars can’t be choosers.  But I am glad regardless that we received this extra donor profile.  We’ve decided to select this new donor as our donor.

Leave a Reply

