A Taste of IVF Over 40

The Second Ultrasound Scan

Posted on: Friday, February 1, 2008

OK.  I have been sniffing Synarel twice a day – haven’t missed one.  And, I have been injecting myself with my Gonal injections daily as well – at 3pm each day.  Good job.

I went for my scan today and the lovely doctor tells me that my follicles are underdeveloped. “I’m going to have to increase your dose” he said.

Oh.  My follicles are underdeveloped.

Today showed that I have five follicles on the right ovary and four on the left.  I just have to make sure that they grow big and strong by Tuesday and have healthy little eggs inside them. Hmmm … I should be able to do that!?  He’s increased my dose of Gonal-f from 300ui daily to 450ui daily.

So. Now I will inject myself for another four days with an extra 50% in the injection syringe, then come back for a third scan on Tuesday to make sure my follicles and eggs are all happening.  Cool.

LATER THAT DAY …

I was OK with that.  Until I gave myself the injection.  There is a big difference isn’t there!  An extra 50% of fluid takes up a lot more space inside you.  Ouch.  It hurt a little bit this time.  Oh. but I’m a big girl – and it’s all for a good scan.

Leave a Reply

