A Taste of IVF Over 40

First Signs of Discomfort

Posted on: Sunday, February 3, 2008

So far, the only symptoms I believe I have (besides the minor ‘ouch’ of the daily injections I give myself) are headaches.  These come and go and my head feels really tense and my teeth, jaw and neck hurt. 

My mum and I were speaking on the phone yesterday and I thought I sounded a bit rude to her so I rang  her back and broke the news to her that I was on IVF.  Not a big deal but I couldn’t have her potentially getting concerned.  So now she knows.  I didn’t want to tell her because I didn’t want her to worry.   I asked her not to tell Dad because I am afraid he’d accidentally tell others in our family.   I probably should trust him more.

Why am I so personal about all of this?  I don’t feel like a failure.  Maybe it’s because I don’t want too many people wasting too much time wondering, worrying and talking about me.  Maybe it’s because I don’t really like people talking about me.  I think it’s because I would absolutely and utterly hate anyone to feel sorry for me.

1 Response to "First Signs of Discomfort"

Leave a Reply

