A Taste of IVF Over 40

Pregnyl Injections – part 1

Posted on: Wednesday, February 13, 2008

I have to take two more injections.  I give myself one today and then the other one in four days.  I was surprised when I read the instructions – this hormone is obtained from the urine of pregnant women.

I am a little confused.  The nurse said I should inject it into my stomach and the packet says it should be injected into a muscle.  I’m pretty sure the nurse will be right though.  I’ll ring the nurses again today to get a clear answer.  If it has to go into a muscle I’m not sure I can do that.

The nurse gave me the needles and syringes and the pharmacy gave me the ampoules.

There are two ampoules.  One has the drug in a powder form and the other is just saline.  You have to attach a long needle to the syringe, crack the ampoules open, suck up the saline, drop it into the powder (where it instantly dissolves), suck up the new mixture, change needles and then inject it.  However, this may not be right so when I ring them later today I’ll ask them to go through everything.

Leave a Reply

