A Taste of IVF Over 40

Pregnyl Injections – part 2

Posted on: Wednesday, February 13, 2008

OK.  I got it.  There are actually detailed instructions that the nurse gave me (with the syringes) that I didn’t see until now.  The needle goes into your belly.  It is a little complicated to organise the ampoules and needles (unless you’ve done it a few times I bet).

I reckon I am the first person in history to snap the ampoule off at the wrong spot.  It didn’t snap the way it was supposed to – I had a couple of small fragments of glass on the table top.  Stupid.  How did I manage that?  I hope next time goes more smoothly.   My sharps container is full.  Chockers.  I still have one more injection.  I wonder if I can take them to my local chemist and ask if I can put them in their sharps bin.

Now, some women insert a gel with an applicator.  I asked the nurse why I get the two injections instead of the gel.  She said something like that it was probably because I didn’t respond as well as some women to the first lot of hormones – (you know how I didn’t grow all that many follicles?).  Anyway, it all went well.  It didn’t hurt. 

Leave a Reply

