A Taste of IVF Over 40

My Husband’s IVF Struggle

Posted on: Thursday, March 13, 2008

In light of my recent post – the one where I was all self-pitying – I have been thinking a lot. I’ve been thinking about my husband. If there is one thing I have learned in my life, and from my IVF experiences, it is that you can never, ever, ever understand or imagine what someone else is going through when you have no experience of it – or, even if you do have experience of it – everyone reacts differently. People are so different. I can’t imagine what he must be going through. I mean it. I reckon I could give it a good guess but I couldn’t predict the emotions he must now have accepted as part of his life. I cannot imagine what he is facing, what he has faced since he found out he has absolutely no chance of being a biological father to a child. No chance at all – ever.

Really. At least I have a chance. How much moaning have I been doing about my predicament and all the time I’ve been thinking so infrequently about his situation. He consistently says he is fine, he’s not bothered, etc. However, I wonder what places he went through before he got to this ‘positive place’. In fact, I wonder how often he revisits those places.

Leave a Reply

