A Taste of IVF Over 40

Another Failed Attempt

Posted on: Thursday, March 27, 2008

OK.  Today I feel sad.

I wonder, do I have to go on the pill for 3 or so weeks again before I start my next stimulation?  Do you have to do that every stimulation cycle?  It takes up so much valuable time.

3 Responses to "Another Failed Attempt"

Hi – I’m an over-40 also and I only did the BCP for one stim cycle because it suppressed me waaaaay too much. Like, almost no response at all that month. Now I never suppress, just start stims after AF comes. Last cycle (my best), I did Femara starting day 2 and Bravelle starting day 5, then threw Ganirelix in later. No suppression first. I don’t see why you need to do the BCP first unless you’re continually getting a runaway dominant follicle. If yours are all growing at reasonably similar rates, I’d ask your RE if you can go a cycle without BCP to see how you do.

Very best of luck!

J

I’ve never done BCP. Doesn’t seem to happen in the UK.
With the long protocol I did a long lasting injection (Prostap, aka Lupron) on day 21 and started stims on cycle day 5. With the short protocol I just started stims on day 3 of a natural cycle and took Oralgutran (sp?) after about day 8 to stop me ovulating. I much preferred the short protocol.

I hope you can start quickly, I quite agree that waiting around can seem way too long with time passing so quickly.

I’m 39 and just had a failed first cycle a couple of weeks ago. I did not take BCPs for that first cycle and did a microflare lupron protocol; 8 eggs, 5 mature, 1 fertilized with ICSI – bad egg quality. I was put on BCPs for this second cycle I’m about to start in April, and I’m worried about it. Not sure exactly why BCPs this time, but maybe because it’s so close to the first cycle and my ovaries need to calm down(?). It’s of course recommended to wait three months between cycles, but since I had to have cervical dilation, sooner is better. Two weeks was apparently ideal to be on BCPs, but because of my DHs scheduling problems, I will be on it for a little over 3 weeks. No lupron this time, though, and instead we’re trying ganerelix. I do wonder about the BCPs and hope that it’s not a big mistake…

Leave a Reply

