A Taste of IVF Over 40

Back on the Pill – Attempt 4

Posted on: Monday, March 31, 2008

Nope, I’m not plunging straight into it; I have to take the pill.  I start it on Wednesday, then I’ll start the Synarel nasal spray, then the daily 450iu Gonal-f injections for however long.  That’s a fairly strong dose of Gonal-f.  Let’s see how my husband copes with that! 

I didn’t see the doctor today, just the nurse who took my blood (for the useless HCG test).  However, she was lovely and put my case forward to the doctor for me to start without the pill.  But the doctor was adamant I’d start with the pill. 

I’m feeling strangely teary.  I think it’s because I don’t really understand the full reason why I have to waste time (seemingly) by going on the pill.  I’m quite certain my clever doctor has no intention of wasting time or creating anything less than the best quality cycle achievable.  It’s because I don’t fully understand what the advantage of going on the pill is.  And I am fretting because I only have a year of good eggs left.  

I trust the huge doses of Gonal-f will make me create more than six eggs this time; another thing I’ll have to read about.

I can feel another Google search coming on 🙂

3 Responses to "Back on the Pill – Attempt 4"

Just by chance I read today that taking the BCP before a cycle is said to improve the quality of the eggs.

I know the delay is frustrating but perhaps knowing it may help might take away some of the sting.

Don’t worry about it – there’s still so much that’s a mystery to medical science about this fertility/babymaking gig that there’s a lot of luck involved anyway – in the end, I bet you end up with just as good of a chance with BCP as without. The extra few weeks is a pain, but consider it bonus time to really enjoy any fun unhealthy habits during that time. 🙂

– J

I found your blog through Google Reader. My husband and I are embarking our first (and hopefully last) IVF attempt. Good luck to you – I’ll be following your progress.

Leave a Reply

