A Taste of IVF Over 40

Why Does It Take So Long?

Posted on: Tuesday, April 15, 2008

I am quietly freaking out. 

It has been six months since I first contacted this IVF clinic and I am only just about to start my second stimulated cycle.  I feel utterly helpless.  Why did I have to go on the pill and seemingly waste so much time?  I am in a cold sweat with worry.  It wouldn’t be so bad if I wasn’t so old.  It better work.

Two days until I start my Synarel nasal spray.

6 Responses to "Why Does It Take So Long?"

I wish I could say something to make you feel better. I am pretty much clueless about these meds and procedures. I do kinda know that helplessness tho and that time is NOT on my side feeling.

When this started. We said we would try for 6 months. That time is fast approaching. The only thing I managed to do IS gain weight! Stubbirn weight! I have 9 days left on my Fertility Friend membership. I am trying not to dwell on it BUT it;s always there. It sucks!

HUGS.

I know, the waiting is the worst, isn’t it? It is so frustrating and feels so unnecessary, like you haven’t waited long enough already! I don’t really have any words of wisdom, just wanted to let you know that I totally agree with you.

It’s okay. Deep breath. Don’t worry about the BCP – if it’s not one thing, it’s another. I was slowed down by my IVF center being closed for the holidays once. Talk about frustrating. There’s always going to be something. It’s just a long, stressful process and there’s not too much we can do except just try to hold on to our sanity. I’m 42 and start another cycle tomorrow. I’m here with you – we’re all here with you. Every day we all check your blog to make sure you’re okay and send you good vibes. preconceivednotions and Joonie – I’m thinking about you too!

I can’t help you, I don’t know why you have to go on the pill. But I can sure relate to feeling helpless while time keeps marching on. Just going with the flow is much easier to say than do. Things will start to kick along once you start the Synarel and stims.

I can totally relate! It’s incredibly frustrating!! I can’t say for sure yet, but so far this cycle -with BCPs as a starter- is looking better than the last one, so perhaps BCPs could be the right thing for you and worth a little extra waiting. In any case, as soon as you get started with the cycle, this wait frustration will go away — only to get replaced by some other worry, but that’s just the way it is, I guess. ~grin~ I wish you the best of luck in this coming cycle! 🙂

Oh my gosh….I am in the same boat….I just recently switched fertility clinics because it’s at the point where it was ridiculous already…I haven’t even had a chance to do the ivf at all. They keep putting me on different meds and either they suppressed me too much or I had a cyst.. now the latest was they were having some issues with their lab….that’s all I had to hear. I had goten a second opinion about a month ago. The new doc said I was a good candiate for ivf. Checked my ovarian reserve and every thing looked good he said. I myself am forty as well..I feel very confident I made the right decision. Besides…the new clinic is very patient caring ( that’s what I need) the other place is ….take a number.

Leave a Reply

