A Taste of IVF Over 40

Day 7: Last Day of Clomid

Posted on: Monday, July 7, 2008

Well, I must admit that I have had no symptoms (yet) from the clomid and Gonal-F.  I hope they’re working!  I’m going in for a scan on Thursday to see how things are looking.  I am so apprehensive because I don’t know how the clomid will work with me.  It could make a bad cycle or a FANTASTIC cycle! 

I selected another donor!  There were only three to choose from.  Three sperm donors from the whole of Melbourne IVF.  I am very surprised, considering all the women who go through IVF here in Melbourne.  Surely some of their husbands consider donating?  I wonder why they don’t.  In Australia, all eggs and sperm must be donated through an IVF clinic – you can’t get them any other way.  The donor leaves an anonymous profile and completes a medical questionairre.  The donor receives no payment but the recipient picks up the costs, when they choose his sperm. 

Maybe they don’t know about the shortage?  Maybe they just need to be asked?  Well, I’m asking.  If you’re in Australia and you and your husband would like to help out other couples … people like me would be very grateful.

2 Responses to "Day 7: Last Day of Clomid"

Good luck with this cycle!!!

I’m glad you’ve no symptoms. I think that’s a good thing.

Also pleased you’ve managed to find a donor, they are hard to come by in the UK too I believe.

Full steam ahead then….

Leave a Reply

