A Taste of IVF Over 40

Follicle Scan

Posted on: Sunday, July 13, 2008

As always, I have another three days of injections to go prior to the trigger.

Seeings how I was using Clomid instead of Synarel I have to take two extra injections of Orgalutran (antagonist) to avoid premature ovulation.  I think from memory (from what my doctor said) the Synarel inhibits your pituitary gland whilst the clomid stimultates it.  I’m still on the Gonal-F as usual though – but a smaller dose of only 300iu per day.  One good thing I may not have mentioned earlier is that I did not have the contraception pill with this cycle.  They’ll call me today with my trigger time … such excitement!  This is how it looks this cycle.

Day 1 …
Day 2 …
Day 3 … 2 Clomid tablets
Day 4 … 2 Clomid tablets and 300iu Gonal-F injection
Day 5 … 2 Clomid tablets and 300iu Gonal-F injection
Day 6 … 2 Clomid tablets and 300iu Gonal-F injection
Day 7 … 2 Clomid tablets and 300iu Gonal-F injection
Day 8 … 300iu Gonal-F injection
Day 9 … 300iu Gonal-F injection
Day 10 … 300iu Gonal-F injection
Day 11 … 300iu Gonal-F injection and Orgalutran injection
Day 12 … 300iu Gonal-F injection and Orgalutran injection
Day 13 … Trigger (July 13)
Day 14 …
Day 15 … Egg Pickup (July 15)
Day 16 …
Day 17 … Embryo transfer (July 17 – fingers crossed!)

Oh, and I forgot to say the most important bit!  I have six follicles on one side and three on the other.  Let’s see if egg quality is improved.

3 Responses to "Follicle Scan"

That is an impressive number of follicles. I will be keeping everything crossed for you this round.

Good luck!!

Great lot of follicles. I was on the Orgalutran this time too.

Hope the trigger goes well and the eggs are top quality.

Great follie count. I’m loving your excitement! Best wishes for A+ eggs.

Leave a Reply

