A Taste of IVF Over 40

My Wonderful Niece

Posted on: Tuesday, August 12, 2008

I would like to encourage everyone to consider egg donation.  I can’t believe how generous my niece is.  I have only met her four or five times in my life and she has simply stunned me with her love.

We had a great visit and she is a lovely, friendly girl.  She wants to help us.  I would never in a hundred years have thought that she would be so enthusiastic.  I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again … she is a real life angel. 

She sent me this message last night:

“I know it’s late but I just wanted to say thanks for coming to see me.  I’ll call you tomorrow so we can have a chat and plan doctors visits and so on.  I’m very happy for both of you and I’m very excited to help.  To give the ultimate gift and happiness to the most wonderful people will forever bring a smile to my face.  Have a good night I’ll call you tomorrow.”

When I got this text I didn’t know how to respond.  Such maturity from a young girl.  I simply texted her back “Love you..”

She texted again “:) love you both too”.

I’ll ring my doctor today to get some direction on how best to handle this because she lives a four hour flight away.  I love this girl; my husband and I would actually be very proud to use her eggs and I honestly never thought I would think that – proud to use her eggs.  I have to watch myself; I’m beginning to love her like a daughter.  I want to buy her gifts and make her happy. 

Anyway, the reason I’m saying all this to you is this:  If you have thought about egg donation, I mean if that’s a solution that may work for you, you really should consider asking someone to donate their eggs to you.  As you can see, it is making her almost as happy as it is making me.

12 Responses to "My Wonderful Niece"

Wow, she sounds gorgeous! What a incredibly generous thing for her to do. You are very lucky. I’m so happy that you’re happy!

Are you going to start the cycle straight away? Will you use Melbourne or Sydney IVF? Ohhh….. I can’t wait!

Hi Stepmonster, soooo sorry about your nasty pee sticks.
I’ve rung my Melbourne IVF doctor and left a message – he’ll ring me back tomorrow. Sydney IVF doesn’t do anonymous sperm donation (says so on their website) so I’ll stick with Melbourne IVF and besides, going to Sydney IVF will mean both of us travelling to Sydney. I’m feeling like sticking with my current doctor too – he was a real gem at my last pickup. I think I’ll cancel the Sydney IVF appointment that I made for next month. Thanks for asking :).

That is amazing! What a wonderful thing to read. Good luck to you all on this process.

Hi Melba:

Soooo happy to hear that things have progressed so well and that you all feel so comfortable with your plans. This is gret news indeed! I can’t wait to hear the next installment….where can I get a niece like yours?

I am thrilled for you! And, what a lovely and generous niece you have. I cannot wait to hear how this goes for you! I am smiling so broadly right now–great news to start my day! As for me, I will take my own advice and go to see a DE counselor while we decide whether to try my eggs one more time. I have only had one IVF round but have had a miscarriage and two chemical pregnancies. Yesterday the RE told us that my ovarian reserve was just not good and poor egg quality is causing the failed pregnancies. He said we could try again–who knows?–but he was subtlely suggesting DE or adoption. My husband wants to move forward with DE, and I beginning to think I do too. I was encouraged reading the other posts on your website as you were making your decision. I don’t want to rush into this, but my ultimate goal is to have a baby and raise a child with all the love my husband and I can give it.
Can’t wait to hear your updates! Thank you again for sharing your journey.

I am so happy for you – this is what it’s all about:):):) I too am smiling from ear to ear — you are going to be the best mom ever:) Hugs from the US:)

She sounds like a true blessing. Its so nice to hear stories of people giving from their heart like that. I’m sure everything will go perfect!! Good luck on your road to mommyhood. 🙂

Oh you are soooooooooooo lucky..we are now waiting for the DE counselor appointment, couldn’t get one until september. We don’t have anyone, to get such wonderful help from, you are so lucky. I guess we will have to look at advertising…it all takes sooooooo long. A friend did offer but at 40 my doctor said to avoid more heartache and look for a younger sweetheart. The ivf exit meeting was very sad and I am still in disbelief that I can not have a child. I too go to melb IVF. I am determined to be a mum some how. We are all set up for it. The bedroom has been empty waiting for 8 years now. I just wish I knew off someone to help us so that we don’t have to wait even longer. Arrhhh I can’t stand it. Goodluck to you. Keep talking there seems to be a few of us at the same stage now.

What a beautiful person. I can completely understand how you would say and feel that you are proud to use her eggs. What a godsend.

Along with egg donation, there is something I heard of called egg freezing. If you want to find out more, you can ask your doctor.

Your nieces email made tears come to my eyes. She is gods helper.

All the best.

AX

Im all in favour of egg donation and have seen so many lives and families fulfiled because of the generous kindness and giving heart of egg donors.

baby2mom Egg Donation and Surrogacy Programme assists couples conceive through the use of egg donation in South Africa and South African surrogacy programmes.

Couple your affordable egg donation, affordable fertility treatment with an egg safari.

Visit http://www.baby2mom.co.za

Leave a Reply

