A Taste of IVF Over 40

Twin Boys after IVF!!

Posted on: Wednesday, March 25, 2009

Happy as Larry – that’s me … and my husband!

I just had the 19 week scan – we’ve got two boys in there and I am just starting to feel them moving around.  And, I think it’s starting to sink in, finally! 

I don’t think I’ve ever been this happy in my entire life.  Every minute of pain has been totally worth what I am experiencing today.  This is what happiness is.

21 Responses to "Twin Boys after IVF!!"

So happy for you. Congratulations, look after yourself.

Enjoy your wonderful pregnancy.

Yippeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee! I am so happy for you! You are my inspiration!! Take care of yourself and those little babies and ENJOY this time.

How great is that!?
I absolutely loved having my son–two is just fantastic!!
Congratulations! 🙂

I know, right? I tell people that I am “stupid-happy” morning noon and night. I do think those of us who have gone through such pain to get and stay pregnant are more grateful than those who did it with ease.

Enjoy every moment!

YIIPPEE!!! Congrats! xoxoxo

Congratulations!! Enjoy this time as much as you can.

You have been an inspiration to me. My husband and I have chosen a donor and are moving forward!

Take care of yourself and those little boys! 🙂

Yeah!! That’s so much fun.

OH Melbagirl that is Fantastic news! I’m so glad that you are starting to feel them move and that reality is sinking in at last. It’s a long process, isn’t it?

I hope you are feeling well again now, but more importantly I hope your happiness lasts forever!

Congratulations! I am so happy to hear your story! My experience is almost identical as yours (all the IVF tries, miscarriage, etc.). I have one precious baby who just turned one year although I had two embryos (snow babies) transferred. Looking forward to hearing all about your sons.

I have not had ivf and am able to get pregnant naturally i even managed to have a son who’s 2 now but to my great sadness i have had 3 miscarriages in the last year one of them was a missed miscarriage at 10 weeks and i have never felt such pain.I am happy to say im now pregnant again 5 weeks 4 days and your so right we are very much more gratefull for the chance at having a successful pregnancy as with my son i just took it for granted he would be born and everyday i wish i had taken more notice of that pregnancy as all my pregnancys are now tainted with panic and worry but ofc i still have that much needed hope that all will be well good luck to any lady going through ivf i know you have it much harder that i could ever imagine and i wish you all the luck in the world

Hi,

I am 39 and had my first IVF transfer 9 days ago…but am wondering…Do you count the day of the transfer as DAY 1??

My doctor will be doing a pregnancy test tomottrow and another 2 days later. He does not give the results on the first test as to avoid the possibility of a false positive (or negative) with the results.

WOW, I think it was easier when I had my son (the love of my life!) SEVEN years ago without fertility procedures (via C-Section might I add)!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

This is really mentally exhausting. I would love to hear from anyone…!

Well, I am so heart-broken…I had both of my BETA tests and my DR called me on my son’s birthday (just a conicidence!) and told me the IVF failed. I thank GOD for my son, otherwise I don’t know what I’d do…..how did I feel all of the pregnancy symptoms and the PROGESTERONE levels were ‘excellent’ and then the IVF fails!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! PLEASE someone tell me anything I might be missing when it comes to understanding IVF….it was my first….and my hubby and I decided to do just one more……what can I do to relax for the next one…my doctor said that he believes this is a strong factor in helping it to have a positive outcome. I am just so into the destination (another little baby) instead of concentrating on the journey (basically goal oriented) and relaxation is not my strong point when it comes to IVF!

Jaylee,

My thoughts are with you for your next attempt. I am so sorry that things didn’t work out for you this time. It can be so very painful. Please try and stay relaxed by getting massages, and if you can afford it, acupuncture. This helps for some women.

Oh Melba! Please please please give us an update!

LS x

So sorry Lifeslurper! I’ve been distracted and I didn’t think anyone would still be reading this seeing as how I’m all knocked up and all! And how have you been? I hope you are well.

I’ll post another post one day very soon. I am still preggers (29 weeks tomorrow) and the happiest woman in the Southern Hemisphere! Thank you so much for your interest!

Hi Jaylee, So sorry to hear about your negative results. This is our 5th and final try. I am 44 and the last 4 attempts have been with donor eggs, actually 5 day blasts that look good. I have always freaked out and gotten so stressed with the other attempts that my husband thinks this affected our results. We have waited 2 years to attempt this last cycle, knowing it is our last chance and I guess afraid to face the possibility of it not working and being childless.

However this last cycle has been calmer for me. My mother passed away 3 months ago and this has changed me tremendously. I am so thankful for the people in my life that I love. I treasure every day with them. I realized that I was obsessing about having a child and it was causing me to neglect the other wonder things that I already have to be thankful for.
My mother’s life seemed so brief and I don’t want to waste a day being stressed over something I have little control over.

I do believe in God and I know that His plan for my life is better than anything I could come up with. SO having said all that, I am thankful for the people who have helped my husband and I and those who have prayed for us as well along this journey.

I am 5 days post transfer of 3-5 day embryos. I am excited about the possibility of success and fully aware that whatever happens, our life will go on and we will have many happy memories ahead.

My test is scheduled for June 3rd.

Yesterday-day7….. Had positive HPT
Very optimistic but trying not to freak out.
My husband refuses to be excited at the point.

I am so truly hopeful for you. The 3rd of June is not far away. Well, I am VERY excited for you! I’ll say a prayer for you tonight

Thanks for the inspiration and the prayer!

Thank you to all of you who left responses to my posting. it is so hard to face the idea of IVF not working and all of you are so compassionate!!!! I look forward to an update from IVF#5…I said a prayer for you and hope all goes well for you!!! Please say a prayer for me…my 2nd attempt is underway and I am a bit nervous…and just wishing and praying that I can have a brother, sister or both for my son….I feel as if my body is “defunct”…..(my word!) and I am helpless. All I dream about is having another little miracle…PLEASE PRAY FOR ME. Thank you all….

Leave a Reply

